Home

Why pray?

May 10, 2012

People ask me that all the time because it’s what I do for a living.  The short answer is, “because it works.”  Prayer brings results.  It calms me down, helps me to think more clearly from a spiritual viewpoint and to hear God’s voice, and it actually heals – not just me but those I pray for.

So, you might ask, given all of the “cures” out there – quick and easy fixes for just about anything – why pray?  Because all of the side effects are positive.  Peace of mind, improved health, happier relationships.  I could go on.

Again though, what about the dangerous stuff?  It’s true that some situations are pretty scary.  Prayer can help to dissolve fear – fear which gets in the way of making safe and practical decisions.  The Apostle John said that perfect love casts out fear (see I John 1:18).  Prayerfully connecting with perfect love, another name for God, helps to clear the fog.  And here’s another amazing side effect: once the fear is gone, the situation often resolves itself.

Mary Baker Eddy put it this way, “Love is the liberator (see Science and Health page 225).”  Pretty straight forward, pretty simple, no caveats.

So, if I can get loving liberation as a result of prayer, why would I choose anything else?  Why would anyone?

Melissa Hayden is a Christian Science practitioner in Salem, OR. You can find more information and additional articles at this link.  If you like what you’re reading, click the “add me” button.

Share your thoughts

