Home

It’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

August 18, 2013

I love the Bible.  I love its promise and lessons, its correction and encouragement.  I especially love the expectation of its writers and characters that as I mold my own life – as much as possible – after its redeeming example, I’ll receive the benefits they did.

One of the tenets of my religion is that “as adherents of Truth, we take the inspired Word of the Bible as our sufficient guide to eternal Life.” (Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures by Mary Baker Eddy, page 497)  Sufficient guide covers all the bases, doesn’t it?

As long as their hearts were stayed on God (see Is. 26:3), individuals in the Bible were kept from harm.  That’s my story too: loving God with all my heart, all my soul, all my might – and having no other Gods before Him, as the First Commandment says – I can expect to be blessed in untold ways.  And that blessing brings progress: improved health, stronger relationships, spiritual growth, even life eternal.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

What’s your story?

Melissa Hayden is a Christian Science practitioner in Salem, OR. You can find more information and additional articles at this link.  If you like what you’re reading, click the “add me” button.

 

 

6 Responses to “It’s my story and I’m sticking to it.”


  1. i love this short and wonderful Truth expressed here. I agree! tTs is my story too. Not complicated, or blown up, but simple Truth. I love God too, and wish to serve him however I can, each day , humbly and with love. Thank you! Merri

  2. patmcoll Says:

    And it is a wonderful story. Thank you Melissa!

  3. Rafikka Says:

    My story is the same as yours :-) Thanks Melissa


Share your thoughts

