Home

God, I’m here. Where are you?

January 23, 2015

Does it ever feel like God just simply doesn’t know what’s going on with us?  We pray, we plead.  And yet, we still struggle.  Maybe He’s too busy. Maybe He doesn’t care.  Maybe He can’t do anything about it anyway.  Maybe that’s just the way it is.

Or is it?

That’s not the view of God Jesus had.  When he was at the tomb of Lazarus, he said for all to hear, “Father, I thank thee that thou hast heard me.  And I knew that thou hearest me always: but because of the people which stand by I said it, that they may believe that thou hast sent me.”  (John 11:41,42)

Was Jesus just speaking of his own capacity to do amazing miracles?  No, he was reassuring those gathered that God hears and responds.  In fact, not long after this he said, “He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father.”  (John 14:12)

Jesus started his prayer with gratitude that God could hear him.  And not just an acknowledgment that God was hearing in that moment, but in every moment.  This is an important point.  Remembering that God hears us and responds – every time – makes our prayers more than wishful thinking.  It empowers them with the spirit of the Christ, which Jesus promised would happen.

After all, he says, “he that believeth on me” – he that understands me, follows me, recognizes me – will accomplish what I accomplish.  “And even greater works than these…”

Jesus knew God was listening, and loving, and caring.  And his works proved it.

We must know that God is listening, and loving, and caring.  And our works will prove it.

Then we can say, “God, I’m here.  So are You.”  Amen.

Melissa Hayden is a Christian Science practitioner in Salem, OR. You can find more information and additional articles at this link.  If you like what you’re reading, click the “add me” button.

Share your thoughts

